Blowing off Steam: Cooking and Other Adventures

Join me on my adventures in the kitchen and in life in general! We will laugh, talk about our successes and failures & figure this all out together!

Simple Baked Chicken Fingers & Menu Time!

I realized it’s been a while since I posted our weekly menu for everyone and since I know all of you are dying to know what we are eating this week, I figured I would do you a favor and share.

Tonight: Grilled teriyaki shrimp & pineapple kabobs with brown rice

Fri: Ribeye steaks with roasted asparagus & grown up mac & cheese (Vermont white sharp cheddar and picante provolone)

Sat: Turkey tacos with my homemade taco seasoning (I might even try to make tortillas but I am nervous because last time they were horrible and I threw them out)

Sun: Tandoori chicken masala (Not sure what else to serve with this one, suggestions are welcome!)

Mon: Baked zucchini & eggplant Parmesan casserole

Tues: Leftovers

Wed: Thai quinoa bowl from How Sweet It Is

Thurs: Baked Salmon & Tilapia with roasted broccoli

That’s as far as I have gotten.  I will most likely use the extra 1/3 of a pound of ground turkey to make mini meatballs for the kiddos.  I am sure one night this week I will make them simple baked chicken fingers.  I finally found a winning recipe they they love and it’s baked and low fat!  I am using a similar concept as the Coconut Ginger Chicken Fingers but I left out the spice for the kiddos.  Success!

Ingredients (makes 4 large tenders, amounts are estimated):

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 4 strips (or 8 if you want them smaller)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1/8 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • dash garlic powder
  • dash onion powder
  • dash paprika

Mix buttermilk and honey, add chicken and marinate for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 450F.

Mix all ingredients on a large plate.  Roll chicken tenders in crumb mixture until thoroughly coated.  Place on a wire rack over a baking sheet.

Spray chicken tenders with cooking spray or olive oil.  Bake for about 8 minutes, flip, spray and bake for another 5-8 minutes or until cooked through.  (FYI- If I were you, I wouldn’t trust my cooking times too much because I don’t really pay attention.  I just go by feel and looks and I suggest you do the same!)

If you would like to make a grow up version of these, feel free to add tons of whatever spices you love!

Are you trying anything new on your menu this week?

Single Post Navigation

Talk to me!

What IF...? Gourmet

A celebration of anti-inflammatory food, travel, and living well with autoimmune disorders. Original recipes, usually GLUTEN-FREE and DAIRY-FREE, with little or no added sugar.

Eats For All Ages

Kids should eat well. You should too.

Say Hello to Gorgeous

Welcome to the prettiest place on the internet

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

STRESSCAKE

exploring the bake & release theory

Cucina Magia

“Tomatoes and oregano make it Italian; wine and tarragon make it French. Sour cream makes it Russian; lemon and cinnamon make it Greek. Soy sauce makes it Chinese; garlic makes it good.” Alice May Brock

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips) **Facebook.com/MattWalshBlog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

