Blowing off Steam: Cooking and Other Adventures

Join me on my adventures in the kitchen and in life in general! We will laugh, talk about our successes and failures & figure this all out together!

It’s Menu Time Again, With Some Reviews on the Side!

Last week I told you guys how I was going to make several dishes from fellow bloggers’ websites and let you know how they turned out!

The first dish I ended up adjusting to make it my own and I posted the recipe here.  The pork was awesome and the sauce was fantastic.  It was loved by three our of four (the 2 yr old wouldn’t try it), which is always an added bonus.

The second dish I made was Honey Ginger Chicken Tenders from How Sweet it Is.  The only thing I changed was that I reduced the ginger by a tad because it seemed like a lot for the kids.  Everyone, including the kids, loved these and they will be made again for sure!

The third dish had me on a mission to find Mochiko flour, which led me to the Asian grocery story across from my house AND ended up with the discovery that the store also carries garlic plantain chips, which are TO DIE FOR and I haven’t had them since we lived in FL over 2 years ago!  I am marinating the chicken now (smells delicious) and we will be trying this tonight so I will let you know what happens!!

This brings me to our menu for the upcoming week.  I was trying to make sure I added some new dishes from my “Recipes I Need to Try” board on Pinterest that is growing out of control.  I am ready to hack that baby to pieces and get these recipes new homes, either in the trash or on a permanent rotation board!

The lineup:

* Baked Falafel from Oh She Glows

* Greek Seasoned Grilled Pork Chops with Oven Roasted Potatoes & Zucchini (I will post the recipe next week)

* Jalapeno Popper Chicken from Elly Says Opa!

* Salmon & Salad (still haven’t figured out what to do with it.  Suggestions, please!!)

* Italian Meatloaf from The Food Network’s Michael Chiarello

* Tex Mex Egg Rolls with Avocado Dipping Sauce

* Shrimp Fra Diavolo from The Food Network’s Giada De Laurentiis

If anyone has suggestions for the salmon, I would love to hear them!  I don’t eat salmon so it’s always a challenge for me to come up with a new way to cook it.  It’s too bad I can’t cook it without touching it or smelling it… I need to work on that.

What will you be eating this week?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “It’s Menu Time Again, With Some Reviews on the Side!

  1. I’ll need your honest opinion of those baked falafels :)

Talk to me!

Wholesome R.D. Mom

Making Nutrition a Way of Life

What IF...? Gourmet

A celebration of anti-inflammatory food, travel, and living well with autoimmune disorders. Original recipes, usually GLUTEN-FREE and DAIRY-FREE, with little or no added sugar.

Eats For All Ages

Kids should eat well. You should too.

Say Hello to Gorgeous

Welcome to the prettiest place on the internet

wellfesto

hacking health, designing life

STRESSCAKE

exploring the bake & release theory

Cucina Magia

“Tomatoes and oregano make it Italian; wine and tarragon make it French. Sour cream makes it Russian; lemon and cinnamon make it Greek. Soy sauce makes it Chinese; garlic makes it good.” Alice May Brock

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips) **Facebook.com/MattWalshBlog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers

